ICP Board Election 2021: List of Candidates and How to Vote

The following individuals have been nominated for the 2021 ICP Board Election (click on the name of a candidate to view their brief profile and statement of candidacy):

Dr Lilibeth Coo (University of the Philippines Diliman)

Mr Admer Rey Dablio (Industrial Technology Development Institute, DOST)

Mr Mark Grageda (Berris Agricultural Co. Inc.)

The election (through online voting) will be from June 16 (Wednesday), 9AM until June 29 (Tuesday), 11:59PM.

Voting will be done online (link found below). Only active REGULAR members of the ICP are allowed to cast their votes; an active member is a registered chemist who has an unexpired membership to the ICP (June 2021 to June 2024). Associate members (those with "A" in their membership card number, or members who are chemical technicians) and foreign members of the ICP are NOT required to vote.

The voter is required to present any one of the following proofs of active ICP membership:

  • uploading a scanned copy / photograph of your ICP membership card, or
  • uploading a scanned copy / photograph of your ICP membership application official receipt, or
  • uploading a scanned copy / photograph of your ICP membership confirmation e-mail, or
  • uploading a scanned copy / photograph of your ICP regional chapter membership certificate, or
  • by typing in your ICP membership card number, or
  • by typing in your PRC chemist license number (provided you are an active ICP member).

The ICP Election 2021 Committee shall verify the validity of the voter's active membership to the ICP before his/her ballot is duly counted.

NRCP Division X Membership Cleanup

The National Research Council of the Philippines (NRCP) is requesting ICP members (either active or inactive) who are also members of NRCP's Division X to fill up a form for a membership cleanup or update. Kindly click on the button below to do so. Thank you.

ICP Board Election 2021: Call for Nominations

The term of office of three members of the ICP Board of Directors expires on 30 June 2021.  Nominations are invited for the election of the ICP Board members who will hold office starting 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024.

Three board members -- one representative each from the industry, government and academe -- are to be elected. Only active REGULAR members of the ICP (chemists) may nominate and be nominated.

End Term
2021 Dr. Lilibeth Coo* Dr. Rosalinda Torres* Ms. Edna Mijares*
2022 Dr. Fabian Dayrit LtCol. Victor Drapete Ms. Ma. Josephine Gonzales
2023 Dr. Glenn Alea Mr. Angelo Bugarin Ms. Priscilla Alice Samonte

* Terms to expire on June 30, 2021.

The elected members of the board are expected to regularly attend the meetings of the ICP and actively participate in activities geared towards achieving the objectives of the ICP as follows:

1. Support the implementation of the Chemistry Profession Act and the Code of Ethics for chemists and safeguard the professional interests of the registered chemists;

2. Make the chemistry professionals (both chemists and chemical technicians) conscious of their serious responsibilities in helping the country develop;

3. Provide a forum to exchange ideas on the chemistry profession;

4. Cultivate discipline among the members, develop the spirit of camaraderie, and maintain occupational standards;

5. Encourage and foster chemical education;

6. Develop a continuing program of activities leading towards upgrading of standards, such as accreditation of laboratories and professional competencies.


  • Only active REGULAR members of the ICP in good standing can be nominated, submit a nomination, and vote. Nominations cast by active ASSOCIATE members (chemical technicians) and FOREIGN members will NOT be recognized. The ICP Membership Committee shall confirm the status of nominators, nominees, and voters.
  • The nominee must confirm acceptance of nomination by signing the attached nomination form or by sending an email indicating acceptance of nomination. Members may nominate one candidate to each sector. Click here to download the nomination form.
  • The winning candidate from each sector will hold office for a term of 3 years (2021 to 2024).
  • The nomination period is from¬† 18 May to 14 June 2021. Nomination forms should be submitted by e-mail to ICPComelec@gmail.com by 12PM of June 14.
  • The list of nominees will be posted on the ICP website (https://www.icp.org.ph/) by June 15. The election period will be from 15 to 29 June 2021. Results will be announced on June 30.
  • The ICP Elections Committee (ICP COMELEC) for 2021 is made up of the following: Dr. Fabian Dayrit (chair), and LtCol. Victor Drapete and Ms. Priscilla Alice Samonte (members).

Dr. Consolacion Ragasa, Prolific Natural Products Chemist-Researcher and Well-Loved Professor; 65

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines (ICP) mourns with the country’s scientific community on the passing of Dr Consolacion Y. Ragasa, prolific researcher in the field of natural products chemistry and well-loved university professor and colleague. She passed away on 14 April 2021 at the age of 65.

Dr Ragasa devoted her life and career to the isolation and structure elucidation of the chemical constituents found in Philippine plants, some of which were named after her. Her research papers have been published in local and international scientific journals; to date, 238 of them are published in SCOPUS-indexed journals, making her one of the country’s most productive researchers. She also served as a member of the editorial board of The Scientific World Journal; Pharmacologia; Advances in Biomedicine and Pharmacy; Journal of Pharmaceutics; American Journal of Life Sciences; Journal of Botanics, Targets and Therapy; Philippine Science Letters; Philippine Journal of Science; and the Manila Journal of Science.

Dr Ragasa obtained her BS (1977), MS (1983), and PhD (1990) degrees in chemistry from the University of the Philippines Diliman. She served as full professor at the Chemistry Department of De La Salle University (DLSU) in Manila where she taught undergraduate and graduate chemistry courses, particularly in organic chemistry and structure elucidation, and where she conducted her research and mentored hundreds of chemistry majors as their research adviser. In 2000 she was conferred by DLSU as a University Fellow, a title bestowed to its faculty members in recognition of their teaching and research, and was the first Pioneering Research Professor at DLSU’s Science and Technology Complex in Laguna. At the time of her passing, she was an adjunct professor at the department.

In recognition of her dedication to research, Dr Ragasa received numerous accolades, most notably: the Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award in Research (2013), National Research Council of the Philippines Achievement Award in Chemical Research (2003), Philippine Federation of Chemistry Societies Achievement Award in Chemical Research (2002), and St. Miguel Febres Cordero Research Award (2000). She had also received annual recognitions from DLSU for her commendable teaching performance, achievements in research and publication, and various roles and capacities in local and international scientific organizations.

The ICP offers its prayers for the passing on of Dr Ragasa, her mother Elena, and brother Jose. May they rest in the Peace of our Lord. We also wish to convey our condolences to the Ragasa family and the De La Salle community.


The Philippine Federation of Chemistry Societies, the umbrella organization of chemistry societies in the country, is sponsoring a mass for the late Dr Consolacion Ragasa. This will held on 21 April 2021 (Wednesday), 12:00PM and will be livestreamed at: https://www.facebook.com/LSPOManila