ICP SoMin Conducts 16th General Assembly Online

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines (ICP) Southern Mindanao Chapter, under the leadership of its chapter president Ms Christine Marie Tupaz, successfully organized their 16th General Assembly with the theme “ICP-SoMin Moving Forward In These Challenging Times” last 10 August 2020. The event was attended by 58 of its members and had to be conducted virtually through Zoom due to physical distancing regulations brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Joining the said event were ICP National President Dr Fabian Dayrit and Vice-President for External Affairs Ms Edna Mijares. Dr Dayrit was amazed at the high number of participants that attended the event; he noted that this manifests a high degree of camaraderie among the chapter’s members and urged them to use the chemistry profession as a tool to serve the community well. Ms Mijares likewise stressed the important role of chemists and chemical technicians during the pandemic and reminded the attendees to always act in accordance to pre-existing laws.

The assembly’s main agenda focused on the Career Progression Program for chemistry professionals, as discussed by Ms Krizelle Pamplona, member of the chapter’s board of directors. This program would align the country’s registered chemists and registered chemical technicians to international standards, particularly to neighboring countries in the ASEAN region, for a seamless career and employment transition. Dr Dayrit and Ms Mijares shed light and valuable insights to significant concerns raised by the attendees on this matter.

Chapter treasurer Ms Luzviminda Ranay gave her annual Treasurer’s Report, which showed how the funds were properly allocated for the year and provided plans on how to raise the financial standing of the chapter during the pandemic. Ms Tupaz also gave the President’s Report, detailing the activities conducted in the previous year and planned events in the near future. She also included an update on the status of chemical laboratories in the region and nearby localities which have applied for certificates of authority to operate and echoed other reminders that the Board of Chemistry reported during the 9th Annual Meeting of ICP Chapters. The assembly was also the time to ratify the chapter’s Updated Articles and By-Laws. In addition, an overview of the initial plans for an ICP chapter covering the areas of South Cotabato, Saranggani, and General Santos was also revealed. Interim officers are already in place to work for the initial phase on what would be ICP’s newest regional chapter.

It was not all work though, as the attendees were treated with raffle prizes in between segments which definitely brought further joy and a semblance of the old normal to the assembly.

Though the event had not been held physically, it was still just as fun and informative, enough proof that the closeness of the chapter’s members is unbreakable. Congratulations to ICP SoMin for a successful and historic virtual 16th General Assembly!

ICP Reaccredited as Official Organization of Chemists, Chemical Technicians

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines (ICP) has renewed its certificate of accreditation as the country’s accredited integrated professional organization for registered chemists and registered chemical technicians.

A three-page resolution signed by members of the Professional Regulatory Board of Chemistry and approved by the chairman and commissioners of the Professional Regulation Commission was signed last 12 August 2020 and is now in effect after being published in a newspaper of general circulation (The Manila Times, 18 August 2020).

Click here to view/download the resolution.

Postponement of the October 2020 Licensure Examinations for Chemists, Chemical Technicians

The Professional Regulation Commission (PRC), through a resolution, has announced that the 2020 Chemist and Chemical Technician Licensure Examinations are among those board examinations in October that will NOT push through.

Click here to view/download the said resolution.

For inquiries and concerns, please email the PRC’s Licensure Division at licensure.office@prc.gov.ph and licensure.division@prc.gov.ph.

Please be guided accordingly. Thank you.

Team Philippines Bags Silver, Bronze Medals in 52nd International Chemistry Olympiad

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines (ICP) is proud to announce that the country’s competing delegates in the 52nd International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO) took home one silver and three bronze medals from the annual event. Slated to be physically held in Istanbul, Turkey, this edition of the IChO featured 235 high school students from sixty countries, and had to be conducted online for the first time due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In its virtual closing ceremony held on July 30, the IChO awarded medals and citations to the winners. The medalists from the Philippines are:

Silver Medalist
Michael Cole Tantoco (Philippine Science High School [PSHS] Main Campus)

Bronze Medalists
Nathan Wayne Ariston (PSHS Central Mindanao Campus)
Ron Angelo Gelacio (PSHS Main Campus)
Stefan Marcus Ong (Saint Jude Catholic School)

While the gold medal is still elusive, this year’s medal haul is the country’s best-ever performance and also marks the first time that all delegates from Team Philippines will take home one medal each.

Serving as this year’s main coaching staff are: Dr Faith Marie Lagua (De La Salle University), head coach and mentor; Dr Jose Andaya (PSHS CALABARZON Campus), head mentor and country coordinator; and Dr Nestor Valera (Ateneo de Manila University) and Dr Hilbert Magpantay (De La Salle University), coaches and mentors.

First held in 1968, the IChO is an annual competition for high school students in the field of chemistry. The Philippines sent its maiden competing delegation to the competition in 2017, taking home two bronze medals.

Congratulations from the ICP!

ICP Board Election 2020: Results

The ICP Election 2020 Committee is pleased to announce the results of the elections for ICP Board of Directors. The elected board members (in bold) who will serve from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2023 are:

Glenn Alea (155)
Abstain (8)

Angelo Bugarin (145)
Abstain (18)

Priscilla Alice “Mutya” Samonte (146)
Abstain (17)

Ballots received:
Valid: 163
Invalid: 7
Total: 170

The Committee would like to thank all those who participated and voted in this election. We would like to also thank Ms Nenita Marayag, outgoing board director of the ICP National Chapter, for having served as its board member (2017-2019) and auditor (2019-2020).

Let us all continue to support the different activities of the ICP.

ICP Election 2020 Committee
Dr Lilibeth Coo (Chair)
Ms Edna Mijares (Member)
Dr Rosalinda Torres (Member)