ICP Board Election 2019: Results

The ICP Election 2019 Committee is pleased to announce the results of the elections for ICP Board of Directors. The newly elected board members (in bold) who will serve from 2019 to 2022 are:

Fabian Dayrit, PhD (118)
Abstain (3)

PLtCol. Victor Drapete (107)
Abstain (14)

Ms Maria Josephine Gonzales (90)
Mr Mark Grajeda (26)
Abstain (5)

Ballots received:
Valid: 121
Invalid: 9
Total: 130

We would like to thank all those who voted / participated in this election. Let us all continue to support the different activities of the ICP.

ICP Election 2019 Committee
Glenn Alea, PhD (Chair)
Ms Nenita Marayag (Member)
Ms Priscilla Alice Samonte (Member)

ICP-SoMin Makes History, Elects Own ChemTech Board of Directors

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines-Southern Mindanao Chapter (ICP-SoMin) made history as it has elected its inaugural set of Chemical Technician Board of Directors during their general assembly last 27 June 2019.


The elected Chemical Technician Board of Directors for ICP-SoMin Chapter are the following:
1. Juneis Cabilogan
2. Eduardo Callao, Jr.
3. Karen Mae Obillo
4. Mary Grace Pomarin
5. Jessica Enciso
6. Cherry Ann Banagua
7. Kristine Claire Gonzales
8. Catherine Sayson
9. Mariell Ross Vinculado

ICP President Dr Fabian Dayrit and VP External Affairs Ms Edna Mijares witnessed the chapter’s historic achievement. The initial batch of board of directors will get to select their own positions, and two of them will represent their group in the ICP-SoMin Board of Directors.

Congratulations to ICP-SoMin for such a momentous feat. The ICP salutes the chapter’s pioneering batch of chemical technician board of directors. We look forward to a more fruitful cooperation for the betterment of chemical technicians in Southern Mindanao and nearby areas!

ICP-SoMin Successfully Holds 15th General Assembly, GLP Seminar

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines-Southern Mindanao Chapter (ICP-SoMin) successfully held their 15th General Assembly last 27 June 2019 at the World Palace Business Center in Juna Subdivision, Matina, Davao City. It was participated by about 160 chemists, chemical technicians and guests.

ICP President Dr. Fabian Dayrit and ICP Vice-President for External Affairs Ms. Edna Mijares graced the chapter’s annual event. It came as a surprise for them that they were each awarded with the Chapter’s Flask of Recognition as a Lifetime Achievement Award for their valuable contribution to the growth and success of the chapter.

The election for the three available seats for the Board of ICP-SoMin were voted upon by the body. Ms. Christine Marie Tupaz (Philippine-Japan Active Carbon Corporation) was re-elected for another term for the Industry sector, Mr. Kim Ryan Won (FDA XI Satellite Office XI) was elected for the Government Sector and Mr. Roland Mindo (Ateneo de Davao University) was elected for the Academe Sector.

It was not all serious business during the event as raffle prizes were given away to majority of the participants. Mr. Kris Tan of Davao del Sur State College came out as the grand winner of PHP 5,000 cash prize sponsored by Shimadzu Philippines.

A seminar on Good Laboratory Practice was likewise held, which served as an offshoot of the topics from the 2nd National Conference of Chemical Laboratories. The seminar was undertaken for one and a half day (27-28 June 2019). One-hundred twenty participants mostly coming from the academe, industry, and government sectors in Mindanao attended the event.

The speakers on the first day of the Good Laboratory Practice Seminar were the following; Ms Edna Mijares for GLP-Resources and GLP-Characterization; Mr. Alvin Basco (Ostrea Mineral Laboratories, Inc.) for GLP-Rules and GLP-Results; Ms. Joy Beleno (Coca-Cola Bottlers Philippines, Inc) for GLP-Quality Assurance Meanwhile, the speakers for the second day were: Ms. Luzviminda Ranay (San Pedro College) for GLP in the Academic Setting; Ms. June Ann Bonilla (Davao Analytical Laboratories, Inc.) for Equipment Management with UV-VIS maintenance and Mr. Aries Ordoña (NML-ITDI) for Good Weighing Practice. DKSH Philippines, serving as a major sponsor, also gave their product presentation and touched on some GLP information as given by Mr. Evan Han.

The event of ICP-SoMin Chapter was supported by DKSH, Shimadzu, XPRT Ventures, Yana Chemodities, Inc., WVN Research Supplies, Guill-bern Corp., Krypton International Resources, Sigmatech, RDL Pharmaceuticals, Coca-Cola Bottlers Phils., Inc., PJAC Corp., Malagos Ventures, Inc., DALINC.

ICP Board Election 2019: List of Candidates and How to Vote

The following individuals have been nominated for the 2019 ICP Board Election (click on a candidate to view their respective CV; sensitive details have been redacted):

Fabian Dayrit, PhD (Ateneo de Manila University)

LtCol Victor Drapete (PNP - Eastern Police District Crime Laboratory)

Ms. Maria Josephine Gonzales (Nestlé Philippines)
Mr. Mark Grajeda (Berris Agricultural Co., Inc.)

The election will be from June 17 (Monday), 9AM until June 28 (Friday), 11:59PM.

Voting will be done online (link found below). Only active REGULAR members of the ICP are allowed to cast their votes. Associate members of the ICP (those with "A" in their membership card number, or members who are chemical technicians) are NOT required to vote.

Voters are required to enter either their (1) PRC chemist license number or (2) ICP membership card number. The ICP Election 2019 Committee shall verify the validity of the voter's active membership to the ICP before his/her ballot is duly counted.

ICP Welcomes Bicol Chapter, Unilab Cluster

The Integrated Chemists of the Philippines (ICP) warmly welcomes two new groupings into the accredited professional organization of registered chemists and registered chemical technicians in the country: the ICP Bicol Chapter and the ICP Unilab Cluster.

The ICP Bicol Chapter was formally introduced during this year’s annual chapters’ meeting in Cebu City. The newly formed chapter is headed by its chapter president Mr Michael Montealegre, a chemistry professor at Bicol University. As discussed during the chapters’ meeting, Mr Montealegre has laid out plans to improve the presence of the chemistry profession in his area of jurisdiction such as the chemistry profession awareness campaign in different high schools and making chemical laboratories fully comply with the Chemistry Profession Act of 2015.

Meanwhile, the ICP Unilab Cluster was formally launched last June 10 at the Unilab Laboratories complex in Mandaluyong City. ICP President Dr Fabian Dayrit, ICP Treasurer Dr Lilibeth Coo, and ICP Board Member Dr Rosalinda Torres were present in welcoming the newly established cluster, which is composed of over a hundred chemists and chemical technicians, and headed by its inaugural cluster president Mr Arjay Cubos.

Once again, welcome to the ICP! Let us all work together to further enhance the state of the chemistry profession and to uplift the welfare of chemists and chemical technicians in the country!