ICP’s PNP Cluster Established

Induction of PASSFORCHEM officers by PDDG Ontog

The ICP welcomes its newest cluster composed of chemists in the Philippine National Police Crime Laboratory. The officers of the Philippine Association of Forensic Chemists (PASSFORCHEM) were inducted into office by the Deputy Chief of the PNP for Administration, PDDG Ager P. Ontog, Jr., during the celebration of the 68th PNP Crime Laboratory Founding Anniversary which was held in the PNP multi-Purpose Center, Camp Crame, on June 17, 2013.

Oathtaking of PASSFORCHEM members
This was followed by the oathtaking of members, which was officiated by Dr. Fabian M. Dayrit, president of the ICP.
The PASSFORCHEM is a composed of over 80 chemists who serve nation-wide in the various PNP Crime Laboratories. It will be an important venue for chemists in the PNP to organize their activities.

photo (caption needed)From left to right: ICP President Dr. Toby Dayrit, Ms. Edna Mijares, General Liza Sabong, PDEA Director 2 Belen Banog, and Retired PDirector Gen Lorelie Arroyo

The PASSFORCHEM officers for 2013 are as follows:
President: PCSUPT Liza M. Sabong
Luzon: PSSUPT Daisy P. Babor (Ret)
Visayas: PCINSP Josephine G. Llena
Mindanao: PDIR Lorlie N. Arroyo (Ret)
Secretary: PSUPT Arlene V. Coronel
Treasurer: PSSUPT Rea A. Villavicencio
PRO: CINSP Lorna H. Santos
Auditor: PCINSP Victor C. Drapete
Business Manager: PCINSP Albert S. Arturo
Legal Adviser: PCINSP Arlyn D. Cañete
Overall Adviser: PDIR Lina C. Sarmiento

Amelia Guevara is 2013 Outstanding Chemist

Text by Dr. Irene Villaseñor and Dr. Lilibeth Coo

Amy awardingDr Amelia Guevara (right) receiving the Outstanding Chemist for 2013 award

The Outstanding Chemist for 2013 is given to Dr. Amelia Peralta Guevara, Undersecretary, Department of Science and Technology. She obtained her BS, MS, and PhD Chemistry degrees from the University of the Philippines Diliman. She dedicated most of her professional service to U.P. where she rendered outstanding service as a faculty member and researcher. She conducted research in the areas of Natural Products Chemistry and the Chemistry of Mutagens.

She was twice awarded the Gawad Chancellor para sa Pinakamahusay na Guro sa Kategoryang Propesor.  Dr. Guevara also served in several capacities as administrator, including College Secretary, Assistant to the Vice President, University Registrar, Vice Chancellor, and Vice President. She was later appointed Executive Director of the Philippine Council for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technologies Research and Development of the Department of Science and Technology. Equipped with the analytical mind of a chemist, she is setting up R&D priority thrusts that promote inclusive economic growth and improve the lives of the Filipino people. Indeed Dr. Guevara has served the country and the Filipino people well.

Group pix1Dr. Amelia Guevara (front center, seated) and members of ICP community

Group pix2Dr. Amelia Guevara (fifth from left) and members of ICP community

The award was given during the “40th Awards Night” in celebration of the 40th Founding Anniversary of the Professional Regulation Commission held last June 20, 2013 at the Fiesta Pavilion, Manila Hotel.