Forum on Proposed IRR for Professional Chemistry Act Successfully Held

Text by Nick Tan; Photographs by Dr. Toby Dayrit and Edna Mijares

Chemistry professionals in the academe, government, and industry sectors attended an ICP-sponsored forum on the Proposed IRR of the recently passed Chemistry Profession Act (RA 10657) held at the PNP Multi-Purpose Center in Camp Crame, Quezon City last July 31. ICP board members Dr. Toby Dayrit and Ms. Edna Mijares, as well as PRC Board of Chemistry Chair Dr. Dory Resurreccion served as facilitators of this event.


Dory ResurreccionPRC Board of Chemistry Chair Dr. Dory Resurreccion explaining some of the provisions of the proposed IRR of RA 10657

IRR Forum, industry & govtFacilitators and participants of the session for the government and industry sectors

IRR Forum, academe 2Facilitators and participants of the session for the academe sector


The ICP and Board of Chemistry continue to welcome comments and suggestions on the proposed IRR. You may download the comment form at this link (Deadline of submission: August 7). Instructions on how to send back the said form is included in the file.

ICP Elections 2015: Results

The ICP Election Committee is pleased to announce the results of the elections for ICP Board of Directors. The newly elected board members (in bold) who will serve from 2015 to 2018 are:

Dr. Lilibeth Coo (68)
Ms. Maria Soledad L. Distor (9)
Abstain (1)

Dr. Rosalinda Torres (70)
Abstain (8)

Ms. Vilma S. Cembrano (16)
Ms. Edna Mijares (59)
Abstain (3)

(Total Number of Votes: 78)

We would like to thank all those who voted / participated in this election. Let us all continue to support the different activities of ICP.

2015 ICP Election Committee
Dr. Glenn Alea (Chair)
Ms. Priscilla Samonte (Member)
Dr. Veronica Migo (Member)

ICP Elections 2015: List of Candidates and How to Vote

Please click on the following names to view their respective curriculum vitae.

Lilibeth Coo, PhD (University of the Philippines Diliman)
Maria Soledad Lopez-Distor (Systems Technology Institute [STI] – Sta. Rosa, Laguna)

Rosalinda C. Torres, PhD (ITDI-DOST)

Vilma S. Cembrano (Maynilad Water Services, Inc.)
Edna C. Mijares (Jefcor Laboratories, Inc.)


The Elections will be up to 22 June 2015 (Monday). You may download the election ballot on this link. Please accomplish the ballot and send it via email to

ICP Elections 2015: Call for Nominations (EXTENDED)

The term of office of three members of the ICP Board of Directors expires on June 30, 2015.  Nominations are invited for the election of the ICP Board members who will hold office starting July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2018.  According to the By-Laws of the ICP:

 Article I: Board of Directors and Officers of the ICP National

Section 1. Composition of the Board of Directors.  The Board of Directors of the national organization shall be made up of at least nine (9) members of equal representation from industry, academe and government institutions. The term of office of a Board member is three (3) years. Every year, one Board member representing industry, academe and government shall be elected from among the ICP regular members in good standing.  The members of the Board of the Directors may serve for a maximum period of six consecutive years.

End Term
2015 Dr. Lilibeth Coo* Dr. Rosalinda Torres* Edna Mijares*


Dr. Fabian Dayrit

Dr. Glenn Alea

Maj. Victor Drapete

Dr. Veronica Migo

Ludy Avendaño

Priscilla Samonte

* Terms to expire on June 30, 2015.



  • Only ICP members in good standing can be nominated, submit a nomination, and vote. Nomination forms and ballots will be accepted only from the registered email address of the ICP member.
  • The nominee must confirm acceptance of nomination by signing the attached nomination form or by sending an email indicating acceptance of nomination. Members may nominate one candidate to each sector. (Click here to download nomination form)
  • The winning candidate from each sector will hold office for a term of 3 years (2015-2018).
  • The nomination period is from May 5 to June 5, 2015. Nomination forms should be submitted by e-mail to <>.
  • The list of nominees will be posted on the ICP website (
  • The election period will be from June 8 to 22, 2015.
  • The ICP Elections Committee (ICP COMELEC) is made up of the following: Dr. Glenn Alea, Dr. Veronica Migo and Ms. Priscilla Samonte.