Dr. Susan Calumpang Admitted Into Scientific Career System, Scientist 1

calumpangDr. Susan Calumpang (top row, 2nd from left) during the SCS Oathtaking Ceremony held at Eastwood Richmonde Hotel, June 30, 2014.  In the photo are the other SCS awardees (top row). In the front row are USec Fortunato dela Pena (DOST), Dr. Francisco Duque III (Chairman, CSC), other CSC officials, and officers and members of the National Academy of Science & Technology, including Dr. Fabian M. Dayrit, Dr. William G. Padolina, and Dr. Evelyn Mae T. Mendoza.

Dr. Susan May F. Calumpang of the National Crop Protection Center, UP Los Baños, was admitted into the Scientific Career System (SCS) with the rank of Scientist 1 during the oath-taking Ceremony held on July 19, 2013. She was sworn in by CSC Chairman Francisco T. Duque III at the Eastwood Richmonde Hotel on June 30, 2014.

Dr. Calumpang was recognized for her significant contributions and scientific publications which identified concerns regarding the agricultural use of pesticides, as well as risk management measures to mitigate their risks to farmers and consumers. She provided pesticide risk managers with tools for risk management and communication and produced a manual on Good Agricultural Practices and the Philippine National Standards for mango.

Dr. Calumpang obtained her PhD from the Tokyo University of Agriculture under a JSPS RONPAKU Program. She specializes in Chemical Ecology and Pesticide Management.

The Scientific Career System is part of the Philippine government’s effort to establish a recognition and reward system for highly productive scientists in government. Scientists conferred under the SCS are entitled to automatic increase in salary grade corresponding to the rank, benefits and entitlements under Republic Act 8439, otherwise known as the Magna Carta for Scientists, Engineers, Researchers and other S&T-related Personnel in Government.  There are five ranks under the SCS.

ICP Elections 2014: List of Candidates

Please click on the following names to view their respective curriculum vitae.


Veronica Migo, PhD (Head, BIOTECH Central Analytical Services Laboratory, UP-Los Baños)
Major Victor Drapente (Chief, Chemistry Division, PNP Crime Laboratory)

Priscilla Alice Samonte (Laboratory Manager, All Wastes Services, Inc.)

Glenn Alea, PhD (Associate Professor, Chemistry Department, De La Salle University)


The Elections will be up to 30 June (Monday). You may download the election ballot HERE. Please accomplish the ballot and send it via email to integratedchemists@gmail.com.

BIR RR 4-2014 For Self-Employed Professionals


Please take note of this BIR requirement (BIR RR 4-2014) for an APPOINTMENT BOOK which you can prepare yourself or through an accountant:

A. Affidavit for Self-employed professionals (see attached template), printed in quadruplicate and notarized (min. of Php150). One (1) copy for the Notary Public, the other copies (at least one (1)) for the BIR, and for the professional.

B. BIR Form 1905 (attached): Spaces to be filled for this year are:

1. a.TIN, b. RDO Code, c. Taxpayer’s Name;

2. a. PART II, place an [X] on the Box marked OTHERS, then underneath, place APPOINTMENT BOOK;

3. a. At the Back, under Item 4 I UPDATE OF BOOKS OF ACCOUNTS, place APPOINTMENT BOOK on the first space under TYPE OF BOOKS TO BE REGISTERED, under QUANTITY, place 1, under FROM, place a -, under TO, place 1;

4. Fill spaces for Taxpayer Authorized Agent with your printed name and signature, and under Title/Position of Signatory, place your Professional Title.

5. Accomplish two (2) copies.

C. Buy a two-column JOURNAL. (less than Php30)

D. Go to your BIR REVENUE DISTRICT OFFICE (RDO) and stamp and fill up the first page of the Journal. Ask for assistance if necessary.

In some RDOs you need to get a number to queue at the counter for Books of Accounts. The Officer will stamp the Journal, All the Notarized AFFIDAVITS, and the BIR Forms 1905; They will keep one (1) copy each of the AFFIDAVIT and Form 1905; They will give you back the stamped and signed: JOURNAL, your copies of the AFFIDAVIT(s) and Form 1905.

Deadline for Filing has been extended to May 30, 2014. For those who have not accomplished this yet, you may want to consult your accountant.


Affidavit for Self-Employed Professionals (Template)
BIR Form 1905

ICP Holds 2014 National Meeting in Naga


The ICP held its national chapters meeting on 8 April at the Fernando Hall of the Ateneo de Naga University in Naga, Camarines Sur, a full day before the start of the 29th Philippine Chemistry Congress. Presidents of local chapters as well as members of the national board of directors attended the said meeting. Each chapter president shared the events they have done for the past year. In particular, Mr. Michael Casas (ICP-Southern Mindanao) discussed his chapter’s early preparations for next year’s Philippine Chemistry Congress. Meanwhile, Mr. Glenn Jansalin (ICP-Leyte) shared his chapter’s ordeals after Supertyphoon Yolanda struck the province.

The meeting also discussed the recently-concluded referendum vote for the ICP Constitution, in which majority of those who voted are in favor of it. Suggestions to improve the membership drive were also tackled.